Skip Navigation LinksHome > Events > McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of The Year

McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of The Year

2018 Flock of the Year

The 2018 McLennan McColl Flock of the Year competition took place in Central Victoria, focussing on the Bendigo, Ballarat and Serpentine areas with all properties adjoining the boundaries of these regions eligible to compete.

Judging of the 2018 competition took place on Wednesday 14 and Thursday 15 March, culminating in a presentation dinner held at the National Hotel in Bendigo.

RASV appreciates and values the expertise and time given to the Flock of the Year competition by judges, Mr John Crawford and Mr Daniel Rogers. 

John owns and manages the acclaimed Rock-Bank Merino Stud in the Victoria Valley. John has won the National Merino Pairs at the Australian Sheep and Wool Show several times and is a long term supporter of the Show. John produces superfine merinos and has won numerous Supreme Champion Rams.      

Daniel manages the Telangatuk East Stud, Mount Yulong with his father where they manage 700 stud ewes and 3500 commercial. He has been back on the farm the last six years after spending a year jackarooing. In 2014 the Royal Agricultural Society Victoria named Daniel the Australian Young Sheep Breeder of the year. Daniel last judged the Flock of the Year Competition in 2016 when it was held in North East Victoria. 

The McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year competition is presented by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria in partnership with Merino Victoria.

Named in honour of two of the Merino industry’s most well-respected, wool producer, Neil McLennan and sheep classer, Keith McColl, the award celebrates and assists with improving the quality of Victoria’s merino ewe flocks.

Join the conversation by following @RAS_Vic on Twitter and by using the Twitter Hashtag #RASVFlock

Pictured: 2018 McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year Judges John Crawford and Daniel Rogers